AnyColor 0.3.0

Version 0.3.0 has been uploaded to AMO and the automatic update should  be available as soon as the new version is reviewed. There are several new features and fixes in this version, the most prominent being the ability to use “personas” and the export/import functionality.

Personas is an add-on very similar to AnyColor, by Mozilla Labs. It doesn’t have as many features as AnyColor; it can set a header & footer image on the main window but it can’t change colors, it doesn’t “skin” the menus, the scrollbars or any other window and has no “tweaks”. Personas, however, has a great “Gallery” with a lot of excellent themes. Instead of duplicating it, I made AnyColor able to use the Personas gallery and it so far seems to be great. I’ve also added a drop down menu item to the AnyColor toolbar button that let’s you select a “persona” the same way you select a preset.

Most Personas themes look great but you may find that you don’t like the text color or the background color. No worries, you can apply a “persona”, open AnyColor’s options and change the colors until you’re happy. Don’t forget to save your customized appearance settings as a preset (by going to the Presets tab and clicking “New”).

The new Import/Export functionality should be straightforward. Just open the options window and go to the presets tab. Clicking the new “Export” button will prompt you for a filename to export the presets to, while import will ask you to select a previously exported file. For those interested, the presets are exported in JSON format.

There have been a few reports that AnyColor changes the background color of the email composer on some web mail providers, like Live Mail (Hotmail) and Google Mail. The problem is especially noticable when you use a dark preset because the compose window turns dark. As it turns out, the composer window is actually an empty tab window (about:blank) in an invisible frame so when you select a dark background, it affects that empty tab too. I’ve added a fix for Live Mail but I wasn’t able to reproduce it on Google Mail. I also added a new tweak called “White blank windows”. :) You can open the advanced options panel and add it if you like, it will make all empty tabs white and should fix the colors of the mail composer windows.

Last but not least, I’d like to thank you for your comments, reviews and suggestions. Most of the new features and fixes are there because you suggested them. I read all comments, even if I don’t always reply. To answer a few reoccurring questions:

  • The translucent Firefox window border seen in a screenshot on AMO is, unfortunately, part of the operating system (Windows Vista – Aero). Firefox and AnyColor isn’t able to style that part of the window, that’s painted by the OS.
  • About Linux and Mac compatibility: Firefox uses different CSS files (styling) for each operating system so supporting them needs a lot of work and maintintaing them will take a lot of time. I love Linux and I have several PCs running it so I plan to support it when I can. Not so sure about Macs – I don’t own and I don’t plan on getting one anytime soon so I simply can’t develop AnyColor for it.
  • Similarly with Linux support is the Thunderbird version. I use Thunderbird exclusively and I love it, it just takes a lot of time to rewrite all the CSS style rules.

The full release notes for version 0.3.0 follow:

  • AnyColor can now automatically import & use “Personas”, either from the gallery or directly from the AnyColor toolbar button.
  • The start page (welcome page) will now open when the add-on is updated to a new version.
  • You can now reset all presets to their default state. You can find the button on the presets tab on the options window.
  • Added Export/Import presets functionality.
  • Added a “donate” button on the start page for those that would like to support this add-on.
  • Made menu items slightly taller.
  • Fixed a small appearance artifact (CSS) on second level menus.
  • Fixed the text color of the search suggestions when using a header image.
  • Styled the “sanitize dialog” from Firefox 3.5.
  • Compatibility update for changes introduced in getParemeterIndex() on Minefield, platform version 1.9.2. Let’s hope it doesn’t change again.
  • Fixed the selected text color on some web pages’ text areas.
  • Compatibility update for Live Mail compose window.
  • Added the “white blank windows” tweak that sets all about:blank windows to black on white.

Version 0.2.6 had several minor fixes.

  • Small fixes for compatibility with 3.6a1pre.
  • Small compatibility fix for DownThemAll!.
  • Removed the “Hide main menu” tweak.
  • Fixed a bug that would cause the “Get more presets” link to stop working.
  • Added the “Lighter Menus” tweak, it makes the menu popups lighter than the regular background color.
  • Removed built-in color overrides for Fast Dial and added it as a tweak.
  • Fixed the flickr preset by correcting the invalid json response.
  • Added the “Lighter radio and check boxes” tweak.
  • Added Hungarian translation by Mikes Kaszmán István.

By the way, here’s a Firefox tip for advanced users: There’s a hidden setting in Firefox that makes all preferences be applied instantly, without you having to click the “OK” button. AnyColor respects that setting and hides the “preview” button – when you change a setting, it gets applied right away. To enable this hidden setting (it’s on by default on Linux): Type “about:config” in the location bar and skip the warning. A page with a lot of options will appear. Type “instant” in the search box and you will see a preference named “browser.preferences.instantApply”. Double click on it and it will change from “false” to “true”. That’s it.

45 Responses to “AnyColor 0.3.0”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks sooooooooo much for all these updates!!!!

    It’s too bad Firefox doesn’t/can’t make their css-files universal across OSs when making add-ons but I’m glad to hear that you haven’t forgot about linux which I dual boot with windows.

  2. Yeebok Says:

    Thanks, this addon is fantastic – I am having trouble getting a complete copy of the object model though. I’ve looked in the prefs.js file included with the addon – however there’s no real description of anything.

    Am I looking in the right places ?

  3. Ink Dragon Says:

    The Oromea preset doesn’t appear to work on 2.6

    It only ever shows the last skin with an image I’ve used and nothing else.

  4. realmikey Says:

    I have v0.2.6. I also use Tree Style Tab .07.2… but when I enable anycolor it disables Tree Style. is there a work around for this? Thanks for your help.

  5. Question Says:

    Hello, there is a special button next the standard Windows Min, Max and Close buttons in this screen shot:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/images/p/19841/1207922664

    For what is it and how do I get it?

    Please reply. Thanks.

  6. Yeebok Says:

    I think the button is “ultramon” or similar, a program that makes dual-screen PCs a little more convenient. It moves a maximised window to the other screen.

  7. BugHunter Says:

    Hi, thank you for your great addon.

    I find out 1 small compatibility issue regarding Reminder Fox & your addon.

    If these addons are both enabled, those events in the reminder fox which are marked as “important” will still be shown as black color in the reminder fox management window.

    In fact, those events marked as “important” should be shown in red instead.

    Would you mind help fixing this small issue? Thanks a lot.

  8. Narwen Says:

    I have the same problem as Ink Dragon. The Oromea preset doesn’t work. I’m waiting about 2 weeks already in hope that it would be fixed, but now I’ve decided to write to you. Please, fix it, it’s my favourite preset! :)
    Thanks for your help.

  9. pavlost Says:

    Yeebok: What are you looking for? Send me an email and I’ll help you around the code when I can (you can find it on the anycolor page on AMO).

    Ink Dragon, Narwen: The Oromëa preset was updated to work with version 0.3.0. I’ve submitted it to mozilla 3 weeks ago but the new version is still pending review. Once you get the new version the preset will work again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    realmikey: It’s a known problem, I’ll see if I can fix it for the next version.

    Question: Yeebok is right, that’s an extra program that helps with dual monitors.

    BugHunter: I’ll try to fix that in the next version. Thanks for letting me know!

  10. Robert Says:

    Your add-on currently breaks this add-on:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/8615

    For some reason it removes the ability to remove a bookmark, the red X disappears.

  11. nihcap Says:

    Hello pavlost:
    I want to congratulate you and to thank you for this excellent add-on. The compatibility with Personas is a very big improvement to AnyColor, and I’d like to suggest to include a submenu item for “Recently selected Personas” what will make much better the user experience with AnyColor.

    Also I want to report a small incompatibility issue with other add-on, that perhaps you can fix; I’m talking about “Fission” (http://mozilla.zeniko.ch/fission.html), this add-on allows to use an image or color to fill a progressbar inside the AwesomeBar (Firefox’s address bar). The issue is: when AnyColor is enabled, the image used for Fission doesn’t show. It would be great if you can enable compatibility between these excellent add-ons.

    Thanks in advance.

  12. Eyael Says:

    Absolutely GREAT!!! Thanks so much.

    Now I’d just have a request : would you consider doing the same extension for Thunderbird ? I’d love so much to have the dark theme with glossy look and none of the available theme get so so good.

  13. Jesse Says:

    This add on breaks my website, for some reason. When it is enabled, and you scroll over the menu, the rest of the site turns gray.

  14. ProUkorN Says:

    http://pavlost.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/anycolor-0-3-0/#comment-219

    please make compatibility fix with Fission addon

  15. Kierstin Says:

    The Oromea doesn’t appear to be working. All I get is trees.
    It looks like I’d like it, but right now I can’t see the Oromea forest for the trees. Thanks.

  16. Zdenek Says:

    Hello,
    AnyLolor looks good!
    BUT, how I get rid off the automatic openning o Startpage?
    It is anoying, when Mozilla opens with my Google (Home) page and Anycolor. when i open NEW Tab, it always open my tab and Anycolor.
    Thanks
    Zdenek

  17. Exp HP Says:

    I just came by to give you my compliments on the add-on; it works great!

    (actually, I was going to point out how the Compatibility: Colorful Tabs option didn’t fix the default tab background color to avoid the possibility of creating black-text-on-dark-background when a tab-coloring add-on doesn’t color every tab, but to make a long story short I realized Tab Kit had an Always Override Themes option, so its alright ok thanks bye)

  18. Exp HP Says:

    Oh, actually, I can’t believe I didn’t notice this before, but TYPO in the description in the Add-on menu:

    A dynamic theme that lets you customize it’s appearance on the fly.

    Possessive pronouns plus apostrophes equals XP

  19. Kitsune Says:

    I really cant get “personas” work with AnyColor.
    How i can add a persona theme to anycolor?

  20. Anon Says:

    Possible that the incompatibility between AnyColor and Glasser (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/7336) can be fixed?

    Maybe a simple option to not theme the navigation bar?

  21. Happy User Says:

    Hi! thanks for making this add-on. I have been using it for a few months, it is helpful.

    Of course, LOL, here comes the bug: when I installed an earlier version, it changed the appearance of the Bookmarks, making the typeface smaller and spacing tighter, thus showing many more bookmarks than before. After the most recent update, this “feature” (I really loved this!) was gone, and bookmarks have reverted to the default larger size.

    I am not sure if this was intentional, an accident, a bug, or a feature of my video card driver. Now I have a problem that the bookmark menu is ‘transparent’ at first when I move my mouse over a bookmark. If I click on the bookmark, it won’t work, it’s as if I clicked on the webpage behind, and if there happens to be a link there at that position, it is opened, which is very annoying sometimes. If I hold the mouse over the bookmark for more than 6-8 seconds, it works fine. I’ve noticed this through the last couple versions of Firefox.

    Any ideas? I would like to be able to resize the bookmark typeface and spacing, and lose the delay before bookmarks will open. And while I’m dreaming, how about making the color menu extend to the 256 basic colors?

    Thanks for making the add-on, and for your work.

  22. lee321987 Says:

    Firefox 3.5
    Anycolor 0.3.0
    Adblock Plus 1.1

    My eyes thank you very much. However…
    I’ve been getting error messages on eBay. It only happens when the plugins “Anycolor” and “Adblock Plus”
    are _both_ enabled.
    It slows down Firefox start-up greatly if I my previous session included one of these pages, i.e. Firefox
    starts with one of these pages loading.

    Example web page:
    ============================
    http://shop.ebay.com/items/__solder-wick?_trkparms=65%253A12%257C66%253A2%257C39%253A1%257C72%253A1205&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_sop=15&_sc=1
    ============================

    Error Message:
    ============================
    A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, or you can continue to see if the script will complete.

    Script: http://include.ebaystatic.com/v4js/en_US/e623/Finding_Common_e6239520958_6b_en_US.js:311
    ============================

  23. Altie Says:

    Hi Pavlost!

    Today I discovered that AnyColor + Personas is a wonderful mix! Great to make dark themes.

    Unfortunately, the color adjustments aren’t full compactible with Wizz RSS Lite (under All In One Sidebar).

    I’m using white color (#ffffff) for text and a dark gray (#545454) for background. The background color of Wizz’s panels doesnt change – the color stays in the Firefox default light gray -, but the Wizz’s feeds text stays in the color of AnyColor preferences, making it impossible to read.

    If you need, I can send to you a screenshot to better illustrate my bad explanation of the issue. :p

    Thanks a lot!

  24. patricia Says:

    HI-great extension-finally some other colors for firefox–
    I only have a problem with the images I use (or even the
    personas) saved as presets do not stay on my browser
    the colors are fine –but the image walls /tiles do not load
    again after saving (or when working offline either)– thank you

  25. Natalie B Says:

    Is there any chance of getting more compatibility for Chatzilla (displaying fragments of theme backgrounds in the popup window’s menu bar and status bar)?

  26. orngjce223 Says:

    This addon is great, except for one thing. The tweak menu for ColorfulTabs (right-click on tabbar, “Colorful Tabs”, “Options”) doesn’t show up in white text on a black background when I make a dark theme. It shows up as black text on a black background. Oops. :P

    Could you fix that, pretty please?

  27. LordZed Says:

    Hi! I’ve installed the newest version and it’s realy good. I’ve got only one problem you can see here:

    http://img33.imageshack.us/i/firefoxrte.jpg/

    My facicon and certificate-symbols are stil square although the adressbar has rounded edges. Is this my failure? Because I can’t see these failures in the screenshots…

  28. MachinerProductions Says:

    AnyColor disables ColorfulTabs’ tab background feature. I hope that AnyColor 0.3.5 or ColorfulTabs 3.9.3 will fix that problem (and provide compatibility for the latter up to 3.6a1pre).

  29. Sharmon Says:

    I am also missing Oromea. All the other Any Color work but that one. Oddly enough my colorful tabs are working correctly. Hopefully someone will figure it out and restore it.

  30. john Says:

    Contact me for partnership opportunities.

  31. The Beerslayer Says:

    Two things:

    1) I agree with Exp HP – your Add-on menu text should read:
    “A dynamic theme that lets you customize its appearance on the fly.” (no apostrophe in “its”)

    2) For some reason, AnyColor (v0.3.0) doesn’t seem to play nicely with SpeedDial (v0.9.1) running on Firefox 3.5.1 and using the “Dial Groups” feature in SpeedDial. The groups can have custom colors that should be used both for the background in that group and the tab that corresponds to that group. The background is unaffected, but the tab color is lost. All dial group tabs show up with black text on grey, no matter what custom color was chosen.

  32. musicforall Says:

    on the moxilla addons page, you have some preview images of some presets. i really got it because i loved the dark preset look. but mine doesnt look exactly like that (the url is not that pretty lime green and the icons are different). i know it may have to do with the default theme, but i cant seem to find any compatible themes with nice bright icons. does anyone know how to get that exactly look? or if its from some extention i dont have? i currently have mozilla v3.5.1 with chromotabs and the dark preset with anycolor with colortabs compatibility and active scrollbar tweaks. and i am using firefox’s default theme (has boring small blue icons)

  33. Andrew Says:

    Hello.

    Just tried your add-on on Linux (Debian GNU/Linux “sid”, Iceweasel (read: Firefox unbranded) 3.5.1-1), and it works!

    Moreover, I think you add-on will work on other platforms, too.


    WBR, Andrew

  34. Andrew Says:

    P.S. Please mark your add-on as cross-platform at AMO, as there were users asking about Linux support, so give it them! :-)

  35. Dale Says:

    Is it possible for the “More Presets” to appear under a sub-menu (like personas do)? Or maybe have the ability to load them into the list of preconfigured presets?

    Thanks for sharing :-)

  36. Yleffl Says:

    I’m in the same boat as Happy User (only the first problem though) except for me it made all the menus much smaller and compacted. I found that awesome.

    If you can bring that feature back, pavlost, I will love this addon even more than I do now.

    • pavlost Says:

      Are you talking about the “Misc: Compact main window” tweak? If yes, it’s still there. :)

  37. LordZed Says:

    Hi! I still got the problem I had in my last post:

    http://pavlost.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/anycolor-0-3-0/#comment-241

    I deactivated all other addons and used the default theme and I’ve got still the same bug. Does anyone know why?

  38. suzune Says:

    Hi! First of all thanks for this great addon! My browser is now less boring than before which makes it much more pleasurable to surf the net!
    However, I’ve got a little problem I want to ask. I was using a preset before without modifying. I’m afraid I can’t remember what it was called but it’s a dark-coloured theme with really cool dark purple graphics for the top and bottom of the browser (I’m terribly sorry to be this bad at describing it). Anyway, today when I started the browser the theme loaded without any graphics. I tried restarting the browser, the computer and reinstalling the addon but nothing worked. I found it strange as I didn’t modify anything setting on any programs on my computer since I last used Firefox. Hope you can help me I really liked that theme. Thanks

    • pavlost Says:

      Hi suzune,
      I think you’re using the “Labs” preset. It’s possible that the browser failed to load the background image – selecting a new preset and then “Labs” again should fix it.
      Anyway, “Labs” and a few other presets will be included by default on the next version and this won’t be a problem.

  39. yuki Says:

    hi, just started using anycolor… but i have a problem with the tweaks settings… i can’t read the entire name of the tweak, because the anycolor settings/options window is kinda small, and all i see is for example ‘Misc: custom buttons in w…’ and since i have no idea what comes after ‘in w…’, i’m not too sure what each tweak does.

    might there be a way to perhaps let the full text show when the mouse hovers, or a way to resize the options window or something?

    other than that, i like this addon a lot :D thanks!

  40. The Beerslayer Says:

    Is there any way to delete the spam post directly above mine?

    FWIW, I have installed AnyColor 0.3.0 with Firefox 3.5.x running under both Windows and Linux, and it seems to work fine under Linux (Ubuntu 8.0.4) as well as Windows. Granted that I did not look at every possible icon to make sure it was pixel perfect, nor try every possible combination of themes, but the basic functionality seemed to work properly. Those crying out for Linux compatibility might want to give it a try as-is.

    I do not have any way to test it under Mac OSX but is there a reason to expect that it would fail? Perhaps someone adventuresome enough out there who runs Mac OSX might try installing it anyway to see if it works?

  41. Arthur Rieman Says:

    Just loaded 0.3.1. No longer are any of my tool bars colored. Please fix or repost (or at least send me) 0.3.0.

    Thank you.

  42. Anna Says:

    Hi!
    I used Stylish Design of Tabs script that makes both sides of every tab rounded. Took it from Firefox Facts blog.
    The code is:

    @namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);
    .tabbrowser-tab {
    -moz-border-radius-topleft: 12px !important;
    -moz-border-radius-topright: 12px !important;
    }

    Now when I enable AnyColor – I see tabs like upper corners are squared and the bottoms rounded. For me this is the mess.
    How can I fix this? Why the extension effects my tabs?
    I can’t find in the options.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

